Weekly Newsletter

Uncover the Greatness Within

Servant Leadership

I had 2 guests on the podcast this week that drove such incredible conversations and shared their perspectives. (You can hear the full covno soon as they aren't yet released) Both amazing leaders, both lead people with grace, compassion, and a sense of commitment that is palpable.

One in particular talked about a concept that I had never heard of framed this way and it has still not left my heart. It was regarding people who are yet to have a leadership title. The ones who have a desire to lead. The ones who may be leading and influencing those around them, regardless of role. He said before someone is a leader of people, they must learn to lead "East to West" meaning those around them, their peers, the people who don't report to them or even have to listen to them. Then you learn to lead "North", which is yourself. For anyone who is honest with themselves in their personal leadership lessons and experiences, even this can be hard. Only then you can one truly learn to lead "South", which would be leading people or teams of people that report up to you.

The conversation was had in the spirit of leading with a servants heart. It was from the lens of incredible mentorship, lots of iterations of how to do things, and a commitment to making company culture one infused with greatness while multiplying of leaders who do the same. I can't wait for you all to be able to hear the full episode!

Routines & Daily Habits

What does your daily routine look like? Are you intentional in the activities you participate in? There are some people with amazing discipline who never veer from their daily routine And if we're honest, some of us can get caught up in being on autopilot. Maybe that is through turning the TV on to "Netflix and chill" or pulling out your phone and mindlessly scrolling. 

What if you took back a little of your time and infused it with intentionality?

Let's take 1 hour of your day, for examples sake, that you may normally fill with TV or scrolling. Now, let's put that same time, the 1 hour, into reading about something you want more knowledge on, learning a new skill, or going for a walk outside. 

There is a compound effect I want you to recognize here.

By practicing this only 5 days per week X 1 hour of intentionality, you create 5 hours per week that you are taking in more knowledge, developing and refining a new skillset, or starting a fitness journey...now do that X 1 month and you create 20 hours per month...now do that X 1 year and you create 260 hours that you have put into becoming the next best version of yourself. 

In that time you could think like a new person, have the skillset of a new person, or maybe even look and feel like a new person.

Aren't you worth 1 hour per day? I think you are, friend.

Meal Prep & Smoothies

Something I am asked about a lot is my meal prep routine and what I put in my smoothies.  So, let's get to it:

I haven't been traveling out of town as much lately as I had been, but it still helps to have food prepped and on hand so that you don't get stuck having to make choices out of "convenience". We all have busy lives in one way or another...classes, meetings, appointments, kids practices, the list could on.

If not prepared, you may end up in the fast food drive thru. To avoid that or keep it to a minimum, each week I typically grab a rotisserie chicken or grill chicken breasts, make a several pound pan of ground beef, maybe some turkey burgers, steam or roast a big batch of veggies, get fruit cleaned and ready to snack on, make a several pound pan of breakfast burrito mix, some b'fast egg cups, or little muffins. I change it up a each week so the fam can have some variety.

I can make multiple meals with the ground beef, chicken, or turkey burgers by adding different sides or putting them atop salads. Easy to grab b'fasts giving the fam fuel to start the day. Pack them in easy to take meal prep containers and they can go with you to practices so that no one gets hangry. I try to commit an hour or two on Sunday to get ready for the week. 

My smoothies are really easy and taste unbelievably good. It is my go to every morning to get my brain and body ready for the day, post hike.

I put in 12oz of almond milk, 1 teaspoon of super greens, 1 scoop of the miracle worker magnesium powder (helps with regularity...thanks thyroid disease), 1 scoop of Transform protein shake powder (in salted caramel), and 1 scoop of collagen. All of that goes into my trusty BlendJet and whips it to perfection. I do have a discount code for BlendJet if you are interested as they are a sponsor for my podcast. The code is sonnie12 for 12% off your order and free 2 day shipping. Link below.

Evoke Greatness YouTube Channel is now live!!

I've launched a YouTube channel as I lean into my discomfort of video where I will be sharing full video podcast episodes as well as more video content in general. I find that it is a little bit of a different experience when you watch it versus just hear the audio portion. I'm also working on creating an "Executive Mindset Minute" video library filled with leadership lessons from my 20+ year career.

Interested in Executive Coaching?

If you're looking to level up in 2023 and need someone to help, I have a few spots available in my Executive Coaching program.

The purpose behind executive coaching is to help clients overcome challenges and actualize their professional and personal goals. I typically work with leaders who are looking to grow into or were recently promoted into a senior or executive level role. Those who are seeking to develop, refine, and improve their skill set and mindset in a way that is meaningful in reaching their peak performance.

As Jack Welch once said, “Does coaching work? Yes. Good coaches provide a truly important service. They tell you the truth when no one else will.”

If you'd like to set up a call to learn more about if it may be a fit for you, you can book a call through this link:

If interested in starting your own newsletter, check out the beehive platform offering here: