⛔ Break Free from Self-Imposed Limitations ⛔

Make it an amazing week, friend!

February 6th, 2024

Break Free from Self-Imposed Limitations

Do you ever doubt your abilities, skills, or worthiness?

Have you ever thought, I could never do that?

Self-imposed limitations are the beliefs, assumptions, or expectations that we have about ourselves or our situation that prevent us from pursuing our goals, dreams, or desires.

Often this is based on negative self-talk and encompasses allllll of the fears…fear of failure, fear of rejection, fear of criticism, or fear of the unknown, fear of what other people may think or say. It can also be influenced by external factors, such as social norms, cultural values, or peer pressure.

Some of the more common examples of self-imposed limitations are:

  • I can’t do that because I’m not smart enough, talented enough, or experienced enough.

  • I can’t ask for that because I don’t deserve it, I’m not worthy of it, or I’ll be rejected.

  • I can’t change that because it’s too hard, too risky, or too late.

  • I can’t be myself because I’ll be judged or criticized.

These self-imposed limitations can have a negative impact on our self-esteem, confidence, motivation, and happiness. They can also limit our opportunities, choices, and growth.

Worst of all, they can keep us stuck in our comfort zone or a cycle of mediocrity.

“You begin to fly when you let go of self-limiting beliefs and allow your mind and aspirations to rise to greater heights.” ―Brian Tracy

So, how do we loosen the handcuffs and break free from these self-imposed limitations to unleash our true potential?

Here are a few ideas you may want to try:

  • Identify your self limiting thoughts in the moment. Pay close attention to the way these thoughts and feelings show up for you. Whenever you catch yourself saying or thinking something like “I can’t”, “I shouldn’t”, or “I’m not”, ask yourself: Is this true? Is it based on facts or opinions? Is it helpful or harmful?

  • Challenge your self-imposed limitations. Question their logic and relevance. Give real thought to how these things make you feel. What if it’s not true? What if the opposite is true? How does this serve me? How does this hold me back? What would happen if I let go of this limitation?

  • Replace your self-imposed limitations with empowering beliefs. Flip the script on your thoughts. Use positive self-talk, affirmations, or visualization to create a new mental image of yourself and your situation. Close your eyes and imagine yourself succeeding, overcoming, or enjoying the outcome that you want.

If you know me, you know that I believe you can achieve anything you set your mind to. Remember, you are the only one who can limit yourself. So don’t let your fears, doubts, or insecurities stop you from living your best life. You have the power to change your mindset, your behavior, and in turn, your reality. You just have to believe it and begin acting on it.

My life story is about showing people what is possible for them.

Something Worth Watching

Oh man, this took me back to my childhood with the song “Fast Car” by Tracy Chapman. She performed with Luke Combs at the Grammy’s last night and Lord have mercy…she’s still got it. Enjoy this little snippet of their performance 🔥

A quote that I've been sitting with this week:

“Your pain is the breaking of the shell that encloses your understanding.”

Kahlil Gibran

Evoke Greatness Podcast: Latest Episode

Ep. 91: Fostering Greatness Through Gratitude and Vulnerable Leadership with Casey Jacox

If you are enjoying the podcast, please take a minute to rate and review the podcast, or share an episode you feel like someone else may need to hear. If you hit subscribe, you will get a notification every time a new episode goes live.

Ever felt like you're on the cusp of something great, but just can't seem to tap into that next level of excellence?

This episode promises to shed light on that very mystery. Listen in as my guest, Casey Jacox, and I unpack what it truly takes to evoke greatness in ourselves and others. With Casey's storied background as an athlete turned speaker, author, and coach, we navigate the landscape of success, from the discipline fostered on the playing fields to the relentless pursuit of achievement in the corporate arena.

Resilience is the very fabric of our journey to greatness. He shares a career-defining injury that taught him more about life than any win ever could. As Casey and I trade stories, we uncover how hardships are not just obstacles, but stepping stones that shape the champions of tomorrow. We discuss the delicate art of maintaining balance amidst challenges, the underrated power of gratitude, and how embracing vulnerability paves the way for impactful leadership and personal metamorphosis.

The episode wraps with Casey and I reflecting on the lessons that have colored our decades in sales and leadership—lessons that transcend the boardroom and touch every aspect of life. We celebrate the power of humility, the necessity of continuous improvement, and the courage to leap at opportunities that seem just out of reach.

Looking for a Keynote Speaker for your next event?

I am booking keynotes, speaker roles, and workshops for 2024. I create customizable content for events and engagements to provide an indelible experience to your audience.

20+ years in Healthcare leadership and the C-suite while leading thousands of people has helped me craft my unique and compelling style of experiential storytelling.

Relatability and resonance are key in creating experiences that transform people, their actions, and their outcomes.

➡️To chat about partnering for your next event, book a call with me on the link below.