Irrational Faith 🙏

Make it an amazing week, friend!

January 30th, 2024

Irrational Faith 🙏

Last week I had the blessing of being invited to the Joystarters Club Monthly Meeting put on by my amazing and beautiful friend, Rachel Barbeau. Given I am a Bama fan, my ears perked up when I heard the guest would be Dr. Kevin Elko as he is Coach Nick Saban’s go-to man for all things leadership, mindset, and goal setting and they have worked together for years.

The entire hour of my evening was spent with my face pressed against the screen trying to absorb everything I could from this man, listening intently and taking copious notes.

There wasn’t a story he referenced or a piece of advice he gave without something of Biblical reference or citing specific scripture. It was imbedded in his DNA. I was so moved by this man and the overarching message that was put on my heart was “irrational faith”. That wasn’t the word he used, rather it’s what he exhibited and encouraged us to live in. 🙏✝

Definition: Irrational, adjective

not rational: such as

a. lacking usual or normal mental clarity or coherence

b. not endowed with reason or understanding

c. not governed by or according to reason

Yes ma’am…that is the kind of faith I am talking about. The “all in” kind. 🙌

These were some of the nuggets of wisdom he dropped on us:

The enemy of great is realistic.

Things don’t happen to me. They happen for me.

I’m not looking for blessings to roll up into my life. I just want to rollup and be a blessing.

Invite others along by your example.

You’re not what you do, cause you aren’t when you’re not.

Don’t pray for a blessing, be a blessing.

So what. Now what?

Those who are for you will find you and support you. Those who aren’t for you, they weren’t part of your plan.

I left that meeting fired up for a variety of reasons. It’s been a rough past month or so for my heart as I’ve struggled with being disappointed in people and situations. I am one who seeks wise counsel when I am battling something. It was actually my Mom who shared “God just forced your hand to take action that you should’ve taken a year ago.” My business coach asked me “by taking this action, what might the Lord be protecting you from?”

Ooh, now both of those stopped me in my tracks.

It is when we are processing and grieving the loss of something that it can feel isolating and lonely. The devil loves when we feel this way because he can just twist our thoughts. I have found the wisest thing to do outside of calling on wise counsel is by going to The Lord. Every time I get mad or frustrated by the situation, I just say “I trust you, Lord”.

There were multiple calls and interactions this week that were themed around trusting God in one way or another. I needed my cup to be overflowed with that as I move out of this season of disappointment and disheartenment.

Sometimes you have to let friendships die off because they aren’t healthy. It doesn’t have to be drama. It can just be done. When we have the discernment around when to do this, it actually opens up space for new things.

What are you holding onto that isn’t healthy? Maybe a friendship, a relationship, a habit, or a job. Maybe it’s time to let that thing go.

And I’ll ask you…By taking this action, what might The Lord be protecting you from?

Something worth watching

Laura Gassner Otting (also known as LGO) is a dynamic human being. I had the pleasure of having her on the podcast (Ep. 58) and she is the Author of multiple books that have the power to change you…and the world you are functioning in.

Wonderhell: Why Success Doesn't Feel Like It Should...and What to Do About It

Limitless: How to Ignore Everybody, Carve Your Own Path, and Live Your Best Life

She is a world renowned speaker. I have linked her TedX talk here. If you have 12 minutes to have your mind blow…click the link below🔥

A quote that I've been sitting with this week:

âťť

“A wise man will be master of his mind, a fool will be its slave.”

Publilius Syrus

Evoke Greatness Podcast: Latest Episode

Harnessing Visualization to Ignite Your Dreams and Achieve Your Goals

If you are enjoying the podcast, please take a minute to rate and review the podcast, or share an episode you feel like someone else may need to hear. If you hit subscribe, you will get a notification every time a new episode goes live.

Ever feel like your dreams have been crammed into the back of life's overstuffed closet? I've been there, too, chipping away at the practicalities of adulthood while some of my quiet dreams and ambitions sat collecting dust.

In this episode, I unravel the threads of aspiration that often get tangled in the web of daily grind. I take you through a personal revelation that struck me while I was too busy toeing the line of practicality, and together, we confront the jarring reality that nearly all of us fall short of our lofty goals.

The episode isn't just a pondering of what-ifs; it's a clarion call to reignite that spark of imagination and to seriously engage with the art of visualization, a technique that could potentially double your chances of success.

It's your turn to dust off that vision board and paint a picture of your goals, no matter how out of reach they may seem.

Click here to listen to this weeks episode 👇

Looking for a Keynote Speaker for your next event?

I am booking keynotes, speaker roles, and workshops for 2024. I create customizable content for events and engagements to provide an indelible experience to your audience.

20+ years in Healthcare leadership and the C-suite while leading thousands of people has helped me craft my unique and compelling style of experiential storytelling.

Relatability and resonance are key in creating experiences that transform people, their actions, and their outcomes.

➡️To chat about partnering for your next event, book a call with me on the link below.